About CGA Championships

transcgalogoThe Caribbean Golf Association has been formed and exists for the purpose of promoting and conserving, throughout the Caribbean Region, the best interests and the true spirit of the game of golf as embodied in its ancient and honorable tradition.


History of the Championships - The Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships began in 1957 when Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago competed in the inaugural Hoerman Cup, which was donated by Dr. Erik Hoerman of Jamaica. In 1964, Puerto Rico joined the competition, followed by the Bahamas in 1965, the Dominican Republic in 1968, Barbados in 1970, the OECS in 1986, the Cayman Islands in 1995, the Turks & Caicos Islands in 1996 and the U.S. Virgin Islands in 1998.

The tournament was expanded in 1969 to accommodate Senior Men golfers (50 years of age and over), competing for a cup donated by Dr. Jan Steele-Perkins and Mr. Frank Francis of the Bahamas. This ultimately led to two additional divisions of competition added to allow Super Seniors (Male golfers 60 years of age and over) and Ladies to compete. The Super Seniors compete for the Higgs and Higgs Trophy, donated by Mr. Fred Higgs of the Bahamas and Mr. Vic Higgs of Jamaica, while the Ladies play for the George Teale Memorial Trophy, donated in memory of Mr. George Teale of Puerto Rico.

In 2003, play for the Mid-Amateur division (golfers 35 years of age and over) was introduced, competing for the Ramon Baez Figueroa Trophy donated by the Dominican Republic Golf Federation.

PRGA Affiliations & Partnerships

  • USGA
  • Olmypics
  • Caribbean Golf Association
  • R&A
  • IGF
  • PGA Tour
  • LPGA

    Website Designed & Hosted by CourseLogix

    Admin Login